My Experience Shadowing a Meeting and Events Coordinator

For the past few weeks, I have been shadowing “Matt”, the Meeting and Event Coordinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel. From late nights setting up for other functions, to meeting the clients hoping to plan weddings or parties, I have learned quite a bit about the industry and the work that “Matt” does. 

There are many pros and cons to the industry. The pros include instant customer satisfaction and interaction, good pay, and the ability to work with your hands , on your feet, outside of a cubicle. The customers are very friendly for the most part and are reasonable to work with, considering you know better than they do on most topics (how the flow of a room should work for a banquet event, for example). It makes my day seeing happy customers, whether that’s while we plan the event or after their event is a success. The pay is pretty good for the work “Matt” does, because it’s in a fairly large hotel with multiple functions per day. I can imagine the smaller the building, the fewer the amount of functions per day, the lower the pay. So if you can handle the constant demand, then the rewards are there for the taking. And lastly, instead of working at a desk all day, “Matt” and I are able to work setting up the event, serving, the event, and walking clients through the hotel. The only time to sit is to eat or send a few quick e-mails or make some phone calls. 

As for the negatives, in my opinion, these far outweigh the pros. The hours are extremely long, (more than 12 hours a day 6 days a week, sometimes as late as 2 am) which is something I don’t particularly enjoy. I feel that I am better at working more productive hours than longer hours. Additionally, the work takes a tole on your body. Not only with the long hours, but the lifting and push and pulling makes “Matt” look much older than he is (he’s losing his hair and his body is hurting him more than it is helping him…). I’m not exactly about that life either… 

I’m torn between loving this job for the instant customer satisfaction, and hating it for it’s long, difficult, physically demanding hours. I feel like this may be a bad example of how a Meeting and Event Coordinator’s job actually is because “Matt” is new to the company and the schedulers are terrible which make all the employees (including myself) very bitter.

With the right manager and planning, I feel like the long hours could be avoided and the physical work could be divided up more evenly, but this is the experience I’ve been given with and I have learned a lot from it.

If you have any questions about my experience shadowing a Meeting and Events Coordinator, don’t hesitate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

